A Job on a Lake

Finger Lakes are long, narrow and blue
Finger Lakes are long, narrow and very blue

A recent Twitter hashtag queried “What were your first seven jobs?” Celebrities and common folk chimed in, and got me thinking. Babysitting, check. Nanny-type duties at a house in the Finger Lakes, check. Salad girl, check. Maid, check.
Wait a minute, let’s think about a life lesson or two along the way.

First, I must admit that I was incredibly naive. I mean really unsophisticated, except I read books. Reading, at least, offered a view of the world outside my hometown, which had a total population of 2,000. I was 18.

At the lake house, I was in charge of a family of children. I think there were three or four; some came and went. Their Dad had custody for a month, but he was home at night very occasionally and sometimes on weekends.  Some things I learned:

Tuna Noodle Casserole is best if you turn on the oven
Tuna Noodle Casserole is best if you turn on the oven–I forgot
  1. Actual cooking is hard.
  2. Always keep bread and peanut butter and jelly in the cupboard.
  3. Maggots in the garbage container can be killed with Tide detergent and hot water.
  4. Night thunderstorms are best endured if everyone gets into the same bed.
  5. Some Siamese cats like to sleep under the sheets.
  6. Reading aloud is fun.

    We all loved this book
    We all loved this book
  7. When walking to the beach at night, wear a big hat to protect you from bats.

    My hat wasn't this big, but it worked
    My hat wasn’t this big, but it worked
  8. If your employer’s mother asks you to hide his evening beer supply, do it.
  9. Alcoholism is a real disease.
  10. Families are what you make them, even if they only last a month.DucksStay tuned–coming up: “A Maid in the Woods” and “Tales of a Salad Girl.”
Published by

Floridawoman

Retired journalist, writer, editor and teacher. Our lives were lived in the Washington DC area, but I was born in upstate New York. Love nature, birding and reading. Volunteer at Ding Darling NWR . Proud mom of two, married to a wildlife photographer.

Leave a Reply

