Skimmers rule

Skimmers at Bunche Beach this morning. They were up and down about 20 times. Counted at least 200. Once, when I first moved here I saw one laid out head and beak on the sand and I thought it was sick. Ran back to the car to get my blanket, and when I approached, it woke up, looked at me and flew off. Nap interrupted. Maybe it was tired out after all the adjusting the flock has to do on the beach. I love the way they all face the same way. And which one gives the order to readjust? I love watching birds. We have so much to learn about all fellow creatures.

20130314-184035.jpg

20130314-184056.jpg

20130314-184147.jpg

Published by

Floridawoman

Retired journalist, writer, editor and teacher. Our lives were lived in the Washington DC area, but I was born in upstate New York. Love nature, birding and reading. Volunteer at Ding Darling NWR . Proud mom of two, married to a wildlife photographer.

Leave a Reply

